We have been going through a small group series at my church on God and money. I have been making lessons for my group. I wanted to post them. I’ve structured them in a series of questions. The first one is, “Does God need my money?” We looked at Psalm 50:7-15, which answers, “NO!” God does not command gifts from us because he is deficient or because he has some need that we can meet. That was the problem of this particular group of Israelites. Their problem was not that they gave (v.7-8). Their problem was in their reasoning. They thought that they were doing God a favor. So God answered,
“I will not accept a bull from your house
or goats from your folds.
For every beast of the forest is mine,
the cattle on a thousand hills.
I know all the birds of the hills,
and all that moves in the field is mine” (v.9-10 ESV)
In other words, God says that he has no need. He does not accept favors. He owns everything. He is not a charity case. He is not a victim. He owns the universe. Anything that we could possibly give God he already owns. And even if, hypothetically speaking, God would have a need, why in the world would he ask us (v.12-13)?!
We should not give to God with a wrong idea about God. We should give to God not with the mindset that he needs us, but with the gripping conviction that we need him. And in his goodness and grace, he wondrously meets those needs.
“Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving,
and perform your vows to the Most High,
and call upon me in the day of trouble;
I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me” (v.14-15 ESV)
Let us all give to the God who does not need our money. Let us give with thanksgiving, because he, the Owner of the universe, has been incredibly gracious to us through Christ Jesus.

