Those of you who know me know that I find the affections to be crucial to the life of the believer. In other words, how and what you feel is crucial to your relationship with God. If your emotions are not conformed to Jesus, you may not be saved.

Those who may think that that is way too strong of a statement may not have a biblical view of the emotions. As I was looking for resources on the subject, I found this book by Matthew Elliott entitled Faithful Feelings: Rethinking Emotion in the New Testament. It was his dissertation for his Ph.D. from the University of Aberdeen. It is a must read for anyone wanting to think a little more deeply about a biblical view of the emotions. You can find the book here, and a website for the book is here. I pray that God will open up a door for his saints to a life of total unrestrained commitment and love to him.

