For my fiftieth blog entry, I wanted to honor a man who has become a bit of a spiritual hero for me. His name is Lemuel Haynes. I have admired him because of his commitment to two areas that are dear to me– Reformed theology and Racial harmony. In fact, the reason Haynes was so passionate about racial harmony was because he believed in the almighty, sovereign God of reformed theology (which Spurgeon called a synonym for biblical theology). The God who controls all things and works all things for the good of His own and for His own glory was at the heart of Haynes’ thinking, and I pray that that God is at the heart and soul of all of my life. Haynes was unique also because he was in an interracial marriage and was a pastor of a church in Vermont during the late 18th to early 19th centuries, which was highly unusual for that time (sadly, some things never change). He was a war veteran, fighting in the Revolutionary War. Thanks to Rev. Thabiti Anyabwile of First Baptist in Grand Cayman for bringing him back into the light in the church through articles and his new book. Also check out John Saillant’s biography, Black Puritan, Black Republican: The Life and Thought of Lemuel Haynes 1753-1833.

I also received word that John Stott is retiring. His works have been immensely important for me, from his commentaries to what I think was his most important work, The Cross of Christ. I praise God for the wisdom He poured into Rev. Stott, and I pray that many more generations will benefit from his careful thinking and his passion for Christ. Derek Thomas from Reformation21 has given his thoughts on Stott.

