I’m working through the chapter for my sermon this Sunday. I was struck by David’s actions in the chapter that are much more fitting for a priest than a king. For instance, he is leading the procession in bringing the ark of the covenant into Jerusalem. When the ark enters the city, he dances with all his might in a linen ephod, a garment more fitting for a priest (v.14; cf. Ex. 18:1-4). He offers sacrifices and offerings to the LORD (v.13, 17). He blesses the people and distributes food to them (v.18-19). All of these are priestly actions.

This is significant because by this time, David was also the king of Israel. David was not a Levite. David was not Aaronic. David was from the tribe of Judah. I think that David is able to rule as king and perform priestly acts even though he is not of priestly lineage because he is serving as a Melchizedekian king-priest. This is a thread that began at Genesis 14, when Melchizedek, king of Salem and priest of God Most High, blessed Abram. David was aware of the type of role of a king-priest, as he described in Psalm 110. I think that David saw himself as being in that role as well.

David, of course, was only a type of the One who is to come. Jesus is the King of Kings who is coming to claim His political throne over all the earth (Rev.19-20). He has already given His once-for-all sacrifice for sins (Heb. 9-10). He now sits at the right hand of God, having satisfied completely God’s plan to save sinners from His wrath, and He intercedes on the behalf of His elect (Rom. 8:34; Heb. 10). Jesus also mediates blessings on the elect (Eph. 1:3-14). Jesus is the Great King-Priest.

Just as David brings the ark, which signified or pledged God’s presence with Israel, so Jesus as the incarnate Son brings the presence of God near. And He has given us His Spirit as a promise that He will never leave us nor forsake us. I cannot wait until the day when I am in His presence, face to face, with no sin or blemish in me, and I am able to dance with all my might in the presence of His glory, and He will be my God and I will be his child forever. May I not be like Uzzah and diminish God’s holiness by disobedience. Nor may I be like Michal and let pride cloud my sight of God’s grace and worth. May I even today give God great praise because He has come near to me and rescued me by His grace and for His glory.

