For those who have been wondering where in the world I’ve been, I’ve been enjoying some much needed rest with my family. We’ve spent the last two weeks with my folks in Maryland and with her folks in Pennsylvania. And yes, I did have my share of Maryland crabs!! How could Texas miss out on so much goodness?!?

I am thankful for the rest. It’s amazing what a difference sleep makes. I’m in awe of my Creator, who never sleeps, who in fact created sleep. Why did God create sleep? Doesn’t he know that we would be much more productive if we could work hours upon hours with no end? I’m learning more that God did not create us to function that way. We were created to work (notice in Gen. 2 how that is part of our pre-Fall existence… work is not a part of the Fall!), but work is not ultimate. Every minute of exhaustion is a minute to remind us that God is God and we are not. He alone never sleeps. He alone has no need of sleep. For that we ought to give him glory.

I also am thankful for the precious time I spent with my Bride. As she enters the last few weeks of her second pregnancy, I am grateful for her resilience. We were able to stop and look back at the few years that we’ve had together, and daydream about what lies ahead in the future. I truly have obtained much favor from the LORD.

I am grateful for my son, who amazes me. From the moments when he waved at a bird and said, “Hi, bird. Tweet tweet!” to the time when, after an extra long day of visiting friends and family, he said, “Daddy, I’m tired,” I just shake my head in amazement at how he continues to grow in his understanding. I pray that God will also cause him to grow in wisdom and in the knowledge of the Lord, as I was admonished one Sunday in church.

I am grateful for my family and friends. God has truly blessed me with people who love me and pray for me daily. I don’t know how I could make it without the love of God through them. I wish I could spend more time with them, and I surely wish I were closer geographically(!), but to know that I am always welcome and always home when I visit is invaluable.

Now, after much rest, I can get back to work. I’ve had some interesting thoughts that I’d like to post in the near future. Stay tuned.

