Steven Curtis Chapman (who recently announced a first-ever fall tour with Michael W. Smith) has a new single from his current CD, This Moment, coming out entitled, “Yours”. I love songs that exalt our God, and the song was written to say that because everywhere and everything belongs to God, he receives “all the greatness and power, the glory and splendor and majesty”.

What I did not know is that for the single he added a new fourth verse, as he reflected on losing his adopted daughter, Maria. These are the lyrics, which I hope that I too can sing should I face losing someone I love:

I’ve walked the valley of death’s shadow
So deep and dark that I could barely breathe
I’ve had to let go of more than I could bear
And questioned everything that I believe
But still even here in this great darkness
A comfort and hope come breaking through
As I can say in life or death
God we belong to you.

 

