Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

[This post is actually intended to be read by those who are my friends on Facebook, but I thought that this would be applicable to those who read my blog also.]

MySpace is God’s Space, Too: A Gentle Rebuke

We are in a unique age in the history of communication. Never before has so much communication been able to be seen and heard by so many around the world in almost an instant. From the internet to cell phones to text messaging to blogging to YouTube, we are able to send messages to people all over the world quicker than ever before.

We also are in a day of personal media. From “I”Tunes to “I”Pods to “You”Tube to “My”Space, we are in the age of personal opinion. People can listen to whatever they want and say whatever they want like never before. If you want to know anything about a person, you can just check into their Facebook or read their blogs. We are in a unique day.

I am glad that I live in this day. I have a blog, and I am on Facebook. I have used these to keep records of my young family’s memories. I’ve used them to keep records of my thoughts as a young theologian. I’ve loved the pictures and videos of my family and friends from afar while I’m in seminary. I’ve enjoyed reading the thoughts of many of my friends from all over the country and the world– many of whom I have not personally met. I am glad that I live in this day.

But I am concerned. I’ve noticed recently that some people do not have the same mindset concerning these different forms of media. Some have used their blogs to slander and to malign. Some have used their iPods to sing songs that communicate the wrong messages (though I know you only listen to the beat…) Some have used their mySpace and Facebook pages to display pictures and messages that they would never display in “public”. Why is that?

My guess is that some have the mindset that these pages are “personal” pages, and thus they can be themselves. I am glad that they decide not to be fake about who they actually are, but I am concerned that this is who they actually are. Are they really people with corrupt speech, immoral behavior and shockingly low standards?

For those who are guilty, have you considered that mySpace is God’s space, too? Consider:

Where shall I go from your Spirit?
Or where shall I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there!
If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
If I take the wings of the morning
and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
even there your hand shall lead me,
and your right hand shall hold me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me,
and the light about me be night,”
even the darkness is not dark to you;
the night is bright as the day,
for darkness is as light with you (Psalm 139:7-12 ESV)

Even what you post on the internet will be brought up before the Judge in the end of time (cf. 2 Cor. 5:10; Rev. 20:11-12). For your own soul I urge you, be wise!

For those of you who have been bought with the blood of Christ, why not use these media for the sake of the gospel? I can’t see the gospel on your pages (and not much clothing either, for that matter, on some). I can’t hear the gospel on your pages, because you’re too busy slandering and cursing. If this is who you are, how far away are you from your Savior?

You have the opportunity to spread the gospel faster and farther than ever before. Your testimony is on display all over the country and, for some, the world. Don’t waste this opportunity. You could show your friends that speech can be clean and edifying (Eph. 4:29). You could show your friends that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, bought with the blood of Christ, and should not be cheapened by the next skirt that comes by or the next guy who compliments your beauty (1 Cor. 6:11-20). You could show your friends that there is only One who has conquered the curse of sin and the grave, who has crushed the enemy and is infinitely more fascinating than any celebrity or athlete (or politician). Don’t waste this opportunity. Instead, would you consider using your “space” to display that every space is under the rule of Christ?

