I don’t know if God is preparing me for something, but lately I have had opportunities to meditate on suffering. In my Philosophy of Religion class, I have been thinking about the problem of evil and how to reason through its issues. I have also been saddened to hear the news that one of my good friends from college–a groomsman from my wedding– passed away suddenly yesterday. As both my mind and heart wrestle through the humble submission and the perplexion, I thank God for the timely wisdom from John Piper. He gives good pastoral wisdom from his Scriptural meditations on some of God’s purposes for sudden suffering. He briefly gives five:

  1. Repentance (Luke 13:4-5)
  2. Reliance (2 Cor. 1:8-9)
  3. Righteousness (Heb. 12:6, 10-11)
  4. Reward (Matt. 5:11-12; 2 Cor. 4:17)
  5. Reminder (Mark 10:45; Phil. 3:10)
