AnthonyA year ago I lost one of my best friends from college. Anthony Eldridge lived a few doors down from me in the dorms of Washington Bible College. I loved the way he thought and talked about God. I was never alone with that; I loved the fact that when I would talk to profs there, they would talk to me about him. It was as if we all knew that he was a gift from God. Anthony was a groomsman in my wedding. When I left WBC and started teaching at a school nearby, I loved getting back to the campus or calling him up to catch up with him.

I remember the night that I heard the news. I had an unusual amount of voicemails that night, and I didn’t know why. As usual I immediately thought the worse. When a friend finally told me, I was stunned. “Not Anthony. Not him,” I cried into my Bride’s arms. I lost a brother that day. I still miss him.

In tribute to him, I wanted to post his final sermon, called “God’s Mission”, just days after his mission was complete. I also encourage you to read the words of his wife, Kristi. I thank God for his overwhelming grace in comforting her. I pray that he continues to use her, and Anthony, for his glory.

